To Die For Roast-Questions

This topic has 8 voices, contains 14 replies, and was last updated by Miranda E. Jan 22nd, 4:38pm ago.

Creator Topic
November 5, 2012 at 9:32 pm #14032
Erin

I am new to crockingirls and have some questions about this recipe
Can I use a roast that weighs less? When can I add potatoes? And I know this may seem silly but how do I make gravy with this recipe?

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
Author Replies
Author Replies
November 6, 2012 at 9:46 am #14042
Crockin Girls Crockin Girls

Hey Erin! Welcome to the crockin’ world :) Glad you’re here. Yes, you can use a 3-5 lb roast with this recipe and if you want to add potatoes just chop them up in 1/4th’s and throw them in around the roast. Once it’s all done cooking, you roast and potatoes will be swimming it in it’s own gravy. You don’t have to make it. It’s super easy!! Just throw everything in and you’re done.
Happy Crockin’, girl!

January 6, 2013 at 9:40 pm #16483
Erin

So I feel silly once again but I made this and the potatoes did not come out at all, we couldn’t even eat them, all grey/dark brown and gross. I used red potatoes and added them at the beginning. What did I do wrong? Also this was my first roast ever and I used a beef shoulder roast and it was so tough!! But the flavor was wonderful but between the roast and potatoes, I know I went wrong somewhere.

January 6, 2013 at 11:31 pm #16489
Liz

When I use a tougher roast, I cook it MUCH longer. Sometimes red potatoes go gray. If I use reds, I salt them fairly well. That helps.

January 10, 2013 at 11:12 pm #16784

I agree with Liz, it sounds like your roast wasn’t cooked long enough. The tougher cuts have a GREAT flavor but they do require longer crockin’. Low and slow is how we roll!

January 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm #17088
Erin