Recipes not coming out

This topic has 7 voices, contains 6 replies, and was last updated by Pamela Apr 17th, 6:42am ago.

Creator Topic
October 7, 2012 at 6:14 pm #12533
April

So I am relatively new to the whole crockin’ scene and I am not having any success. I love the idea of crockin’ but if I don’t figure it out soon I fear I will stop trying. I have tried several recipes on here, some of them include a chicken and rice recipe (rice came out really mushy), beef stroganoff (sauce didn’t thicken) and brownies (really mushy and liquidy on top). I don’t know what I am doing wrong because I am following the recipes but not working. Any tips or ideas of what I might be doing wrong? Thanks in advance!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
Author Replies
Author Replies
October 7, 2012 at 8:16 pm #12536
Christina Christina

For sauces, they wont thicken unless you add some sort of cornstarch to the liquid for about 15 to 20 minutes. I always use a guar gum powder to thicken the sauces right up. You can also leave the lid off for the last 15 minutes of cooking and that sometimes helps to thicken the sauce up a bit.

For the rice, I usually add it at the last moment (cooked) that way it doesn’t turn out mushy from sitting in the crockpot for too long. Same goes with pastas.

I have never made brownies before in the crockpot. It took me awhile to get to know my crockpot and how it cooks becuae each crockpot cooks differently. Just keep experimenting. My first recipes came out pretty bad when I first started. Don’t get discouraged!

October 8, 2012 at 1:24 pm #12582
Natasha

Why would the cornstarch not be a part of the recipe?

October 8, 2012 at 2:35 pm #12593
Crockin Girls Crockin Girls

Thickness can sometimes be best left up to the cook’s taste. Adding a cornstarch slurry is very easy.